Recognize outstanding city officials and programs with special awards

April 2, 2015

Every day, city officials throughout our customer communities do outstanding work that promotes and improves the local quality of life. Each year, state municipal associations in South Dakota, Minnesota and Iowa present special awards to recognize these outstanding individuals and showcase their accomplishments.

South Dakota Municipal League

Residents in South Dakota can recognize their local finance officer for their significant contributions with the Finance Officer of the Year award, presented by the SD Governmental Finance Officers’ Association and the SD Municpal League. Nominees are honored for the personal and professional accomplishments as well as the number of years of service to their municipality. Previous recipients include Marcia Thompson from the city of Volga and Jeff Heinemeyer from the city of Madison.

Nomination forms are available at and the deadline is May 15. The winner will be announced during the 2015 Finance Officers’ School, scheduled for June 10-12 in Pierre, SD. Nominations are kept confidential and multiple entries are accepted.

SDML also presents an annual Excellence in Municipal Government Award, given to elected officials and municipal employees who have made an outstanding contribution to the further improvement of municipal government in the state. Nominations are made by SDML members and the Past Presidents’ Committee recommends the recipient. Parker Finance Officer Jeanne Duchscher won the award in 2013. Nominations are accepted every summer and presented every fall during the SDML Annual Conference.

League of Minnesota Cities

The League of Minnesota Cities (LMC) honors the special achievements of cities and city leaders with their annual City of Excellence, C.C. Ludwig and Leadership Awards.

The City of Excellence Award recognizes cities for programs that have helped their cities progress in some way. Awards are given in three different population categories and by one special topic, which varies year to year. The 2015 topical category is “Parks & Recreation Programs and Topics.”

The city of Madelia, MN received the 2014 City of Excellence Award for populations less than 5,000. The city was recognized for its efforts in establishing the Younger Brothers State Wildlife Management Area on approximately 40 acres of previously decommissioned, unusable land. A portion of the area was specifically designed to be accessible to people with disabilities while the remaining land was graded and seeded to promote habitat for pheasants, water fowl and deer.

The C.C. Ludwig Award recognizes elected officials who have made significant contributions to Minnesota city government. Similarly, the Leadership Award honors appointed city officials who have gone above and beyond the call of duty for their city and all Minnesota cities.

More information about all three awards and entry forms are available at The entry deadline is May 1. The awards will be presented during the LMC Annual Conference in Duluth June 24-26.

Iowa League of Cities

Share the great things your city is doing by applying for the Iowa League of Cities’ All-Star Community Award, which acknowledges and encourages excellence in local government. The All-Star Community Award provides an opportunity for officials and staff of member cities to receive recognition for their superior and impactful efforts. In addition, the program provides a means for sharing Iowa’s best public service ideas and demonstrates that those involved with local government are progressive, caring and committed to their communities. The city of Auburn, IA is a past recipient.

In 2015, the League is adding an interactive, social media component to the program, introducing a bracket-style competition on Facebook that will engage cities and their citizens in the awards process. Learn more or download the application at Applications are due April 6. The winner of the People’s All-Star award will be announced at the League’s Annual Conference & Exhibit September 24.